TCS New York City Marathon 2016

Once more I was able to capture the Marathon from the start race of the Handcycle Category, lot of effort and the crowd started to warm up with the first category to arrive at Central Park.

The winners on this category: 1st Michael Taylor from Australia 1:23:06, 2nd Vicente Yanguez from Spain 1:31:15 and on 3rd Sergio Minas from Colombia 1:35:34

Una vez más me fue posible el capturar el Maratón desde el inicio de la categoría Handcycle, mucho esfuerzo y la multitud comenzó a celebrar con esta primera categoría llegando a Central Park.
Los ganadores de esta categoría: 1er Michael Taylor de Australia 1:23:06, 2do Vicente Yanguez de España 1:31:15 y 3er Sergio Minas de Colombia 1:35:34

The Handcycle category entering Central Park

The Handcycle category entering Central Park

The Handcycle category entering Central Park

The Handcycle category entering Central Park

The Handcycle category entering Central Park

The Handcycle category entering Central Park

The above photographs are not the actual winners on this category.

 

 

For the third time in a row Mary Keitany from Kenya wins the Marathon on the Woman Category with four minutes ahead of her closest competition 2:24:26, second place was for Sally Kipyego USA 2:28:01 and also from the USA Molly Huddle with 2:28:13.

Por tercera vez consecutiva, Mary Keitany de Kenia gana el Maratón en la categoría de Mujeres con cuatro minutos de ventaja sobre su competencia más cercana 2:24:26, el segundo lugar fue para Sally Kipyego USA 2:28:01 y también de los Estados Unidos Molly Huddle con 2:28:13.

First place on the Woman Category, Mary Keitany from Kenya

First place on the Woman Category, Mary Keitany from Kenya

On the right is the second place Sally Kipyego from the USA

On the right is the second place Sally Kipyego from the USA

On the third place was Molly Huddle USA

On the third place was Molly Huddle USA

On the Man Category the winner Ghirmay Ghebreslassie from Eritrea with one hour seven minutes and fifty five seconds, on second place Lucas Rotich from Kenya 2:08:53 on third place from the USA Abdi Abdirahman: 2:11:23

En la categoría de hombres el ganador fué Ghirmay Ghebreslassie de Eritrea con una hora siete minutos y cincuenta y cinco segundos, en segundo lugar Lucas Rotich de Kenia 2:08:53 en el tercer lugar de los EEUU Abdi Abdirahman: 2:11:23

The first place came from Eritrea Ghirmay Ghebreslassie

The first place came from Eritrea Ghirmay Ghebreslassie

Lucas Rotich from Kenya arrived on second place

Lucas Rotich from Kenya arrived on second place

Thousand of volunteers help with this event to go successfully through the day, handing water, Gatorade and bananas for all the runners.

The public always celebrate with great noise and make up signals to their family and friends running but they share as well all their vibrant energy with all the participants.

Miles de voluntarios ayudan en este evento a pasar el día con éxito, entregando agua, Gatorade y plátanos para todos los corredores.

El público siempre celebra con gran júbilo y haciendo carteles para su familia y amigos corriendo, pero comparten también toda su energía vibrante con todos los participantes.

Water is allways handy for all the runners thanks to an array of volunteers on the side of the race

Water is allways handy for all the runners thanks to an array of volunteers on the side of the race

Water is allways handy for all the runners thanks to an array of volunteers on the side of the race

Water is allways handy for all the runners thanks to an array of volunteers on the side of the race

Tim's fans waiting to see him.

Tim’s fans waiting to see him.

Cleopatra’s Needle in New York City is one is one of three similar named Egyptian obelisks and was erected in Central Park just west of the Metropolitan Museum of Art on February 22nd 1881. Here the Marathon runners passing by.

Cleopatra’s Needle in New York City is one is one of three similar named Egyptian obelisks and was erected in Central Park just west of the Metropolitan Museum of Art on February 22nd 1881. Here the Marathon runners passing by.

A political commentary is always at sight even on the floor of the career course

A political commentary is always at sight even on the floor of the career course

Power buttons everywhere for those who are in need.

Power buttons everywhere for those who are in need.

20161106-tcs-nycmaratrhon-063

 

About marcocastrophotography

I was born and raised in México City, where the mixture of cultures gave birth to the nation that we know as México. My grandmother was the last in my family who spoke fluent Nahuatl, the language of the Aztecs. Due to the racism in those days, she never taught her daughters the language, and therefore, we, as a family, lost our cultural heritage. I have been involved, however, with the indigenous world, even though I do not believe this happened by coincidence. I have a background as a graphic designer, one credit short of a BA in Graphic Communication Design from the National School of Visual Arts, National Autonomous University of Mexico (ENAP-UNAM). While in a Photographic Workshop at the University Center of Cinematographic Studies (CUEC-UNAM), I met a photographer who changed my life forever: Ignacio “Nacho” López. I can still see how strongly he influences me when I develop my work in my digital darkroom. I have also had the opportunity to share marvelous moments with photographers like Dolores Alvarez-Bravo, Hector García, Lázaro Blanco, and Walter Reuter who introduced me to the etnia Triqui in Oaxaca, Mexico (Triqui Nation). I traveled and worked as Reuter's assistant for several years. I moved to New York City in 1993, which was a dream of mine for years. Here I have had the opportunity to collaborate with newspapers, magazines, and several news organizations, as well as literary publications. I also have been working as a photographer-consultant for the United Nations headquarters in New York City for the past six years at the openings of the General Assemblies. I spent endless hours in my darkroom, even mixing my own chemicals blowing up my prints back in my hometown; skills that I apply today in my digital work with attention to detail. I hold a BA on Communication and Culture from the School of Professional Studies at the Graduate Center City University of New York class of 2010. I consider myself as a Photojournalist with a Humanistic approach; I have an opportunity to rapidly built rapport with my subjects allowing me to break the barriers of language and culture; this open the doors for me to get a glimpse at their experience on their daily life and activities. Taking advantage of the old school and the digital imagining, I take the Previsualization of an image as taught by Anselm Adams with the algorithms of the new digital era and combine them to enhance what I see and experience at the moment of capture. My experience as a printer in Black and White darkroom, has allow me to choose the right material to support my imaginery. Using the Canon Pro9500 MarkII with it’s high-performance, high-density 7680 nozzle FINE print head that produces ink droplets as small as 3-picoliters for stunning, true-to-life images. The Canon LUCIA ink system guarantees archival photo life up to 100 years. All this in a 100 % acid-free cotton paper as the Moab Somerset enhanced velvet 225gsm. In 13” by 19” prints that I sale as fine art. As freelance Photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. Am always open for the booking of my expertise and for hire anywhere in the world as I hold two passports as Mexican-American and a driver’s license for the State of New York.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

