Loners and Groups

African Eagle

Does not looks like the “fisher one” but this one was at the middle of “Massai-Mara.”

Esta no se ve como la conocida “pescadora” pero estaba en la mitad del “Massai-Mara.”

Bat-eared Fox

This morning creature is old. “Fossil records show this canid to first appear during the middle Pleistocene, about 800,000 years ago,” according to wikipedia. The diet of this Fox is mostly insects and some rodents, eggs and even fruits.

Esta creatura matutina es muy vieja. “Fósiles muestran que este fox canino aparecío por vez primera enmedio del Pleistoceno, cerca de 800,000 años atrás, de acuerdo con wikipedia. Su dieta es compuesta principalmente de insectos, pero también incluye algunos ratones, huevos e inclusive frutas.

Golden Jackal

A very active creature in the mornings, even though, they are known for been night scavengers.

Muy activa creatura en la mañanas, aunque se le conozca también como carroñero nocturno.

Kirk’s Dik-Dik

“Genetic and behavioural evidence suggests that Kirk’s Dik-dik exhibits a fidelity in monogamous behaviour.” wikipedia. Smal antilope at 28” of length when full grown.

“Evidencia Genética y de comportamiento suguieren fidelidad de por vida y un conportamiento monógamo.” Wikipedia. Antílope muy pequeño a sus 70cm de largo en lo alto de su crecimiento.

Thomson’s Gazelle

This is another small but very fast creature that at 40 mph 65 km/h can make turns at that speed that even cheetas face defeat on this small package, at 58 to 70 cm (23 to 28 in) tall.

Este es otro pequeño animal pero bien rápido, corriendo a 64 km/h, dando vueltas a esa velocidad que inclusive los cheetas enfretran el fracaso al intentar cazar este pequeño paquete a 70-58cm 23”-28” de altura.

African Crocodile

This guys only wait at the edges of the Mara River close of the site of the crossing of close to a two million Wilderbeest and Zebras; almost a sure warranty for a bite.

Estos animals solo esperan a la orilla del Rio Mara; cerca del punto donde Cruzan un par de Millones de “Ñu’s” Wilderbeest; casi asegurando un bocado.

Hippopotamus

Even with their smiley faces you better know that is one of the most dangerous animals in the planet, and will stop only after the death of its adversary even a human.

Con todo y sus caritas sonrientes es mejor saber que estamos al frente de uno de los animales más peligrosos de todo el planeta y que no pararará hasta ver la muerte de su adversario, inclusive humanos.

Topi Sentinel Position

It is know that the topi can stand on top of the termite monticule for hours observing their territory.

Es sabido que el antílope más veloz: el Topi se puede parar por horas en lo alto de un monticulo de termitas para observar todo su territorio.

Wilderbeest and Zebras

They are always togother with the same goal in mind the greener and freshest long grass to eat, that is a characteristic of the “Serenguethi-Massai-Mara” ecosystem; their long gropus can be counted in the thousand to the millions that go around Tanzania and Kenya all year long. They can be considered the fundamental foundation of the food chain in the entire ecosystem.

Estos grupos siempre andan juntos, con una sola meta en su mente el pasto alto más verde y más fresco para comer; una de las características del ecosistema de “Serenguethi-Massai-Mara”; sus largos grupos pueden ser contados en los miles hasta los millones y van alrededor de Tanzania, Kenia todo el año, Podrían ser considerados como el pilar fundamental en la cadena alimenticia de todo el ecosistema.

Who is next? Quién sigue?

Just before rain they gather together, gets cold very fast.

Antes de llover se juntan, se pone frío bién rápido.

 

Zebras


See you in the other side! Te veo del otro lado!

Giraffes

The giant and gentle looking Giraffes “the giraffe’s neck contains only 7 vertebrae. Anchor muscles on the giraffe’s shoulders, however, help to prop up the neck. A giraffe has a large heart that weights about 22 lbs and measures about 2 feet.”

Las gigantes y gentiles Girafas “el cuello de la Girafa contiene solo siete vertebras. Lo que sostiene el largo cuello son músculos en sus hombros. Tiene un corazoncito de metro y medio y casi diez kilos de peso.

http://www.kenya-travel-packages.com/giraffe-facts.html

However, the Magical moment developed in front of my very eyes; when a caravan of around twelve of the tallest creatures on the Animal Kingdom marched in front of me…in between them around 100 to 2 hundred feet walking through out a herd packed Zebras like nobody’s business with the only goal in mind that to reach the sunset at the verizon.

El momento Mágico comenzó cuando una caravana como de doce Girafas se me presentó frente a mi, el animal más grande del Reino Animal marchando frente a mi; cada una como a sesenta metros aparte caminando entre los rebaños de Zebras como por Juán en su casa, con el único objetivo de alcanzar a el sol en el horizonte.

About marcocastrophotography

I was born and raised in México City, where the mixture of cultures gave birth to the nation that we know as México. My grandmother was the last in my family who spoke fluent Nahuatl, the language of the Aztecs. Due to the racism in those days, she never taught her daughters the language, and therefore, we, as a family, lost our cultural heritage. I have been involved, however, with the indigenous world, even though I do not believe this happened by coincidence. I have a background as a graphic designer, one credit short of a BA in Graphic Communication Design from the National School of Visual Arts, National Autonomous University of Mexico (ENAP-UNAM). While in a Photographic Workshop at the University Center of Cinematographic Studies (CUEC-UNAM), I met a photographer who changed my life forever: Ignacio “Nacho” López. I can still see how strongly he influences me when I develop my work in my digital darkroom. I have also had the opportunity to share marvelous moments with photographers like Dolores Alvarez-Bravo, Hector García, Lázaro Blanco, and Walter Reuter who introduced me to the etnia Triqui in Oaxaca, Mexico (Triqui Nation). I traveled and worked as Reuter's assistant for several years. I moved to New York City in 1993, which was a dream of mine for years. Here I have had the opportunity to collaborate with newspapers, magazines, and several news organizations, as well as literary publications. I also have been working as a photographer-consultant for the United Nations headquarters in New York City for the past six years at the openings of the General Assemblies. I spent endless hours in my darkroom, even mixing my own chemicals blowing up my prints back in my hometown; skills that I apply today in my digital work with attention to detail. I hold a BA on Communication and Culture from the School of Professional Studies at the Graduate Center City University of New York class of 2010. I consider myself as a Photojournalist with a Humanistic approach; I have an opportunity to rapidly built rapport with my subjects allowing me to break the barriers of language and culture; this open the doors for me to get a glimpse at their experience on their daily life and activities. Taking advantage of the old school and the digital imagining, I take the Previsualization of an image as taught by Anselm Adams with the algorithms of the new digital era and combine them to enhance what I see and experience at the moment of capture. My experience as a printer in Black and White darkroom, has allow me to choose the right material to support my imaginery. Using the Canon Pro9500 MarkII with it’s high-performance, high-density 7680 nozzle FINE print head that produces ink droplets as small as 3-picoliters for stunning, true-to-life images. The Canon LUCIA ink system guarantees archival photo life up to 100 years. All this in a 100 % acid-free cotton paper as the Moab Somerset enhanced velvet 225gsm. In 13” by 19” prints that I sale as fine art. As freelance Photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. Am always open for the booking of my expertise and for hire anywhere in the world as I hold two passports as Mexican-American and a driver’s license for the State of New York.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Loners and Groups

  1. Sara says:

    Dear papa I loved the pictures they were awesome. Love Atl. Me and Atl got a tie and a new jacket and got sweatpants. We had a picnic today,Well see you later, LOVE MEZTLI .C

  2. Marco Castro says:

    Meztli and Atl:
    Glad you like the pictures, espero esten leyendo las partes en Español…

    Love you!!!

    Your Dad…

  3. Ignacio says:

    Hola Marco,
    Your photos are amazing! Thank you for sharing the adventure with all of us. It is really great to see all of it in real time as you experience it.

    Gracias!

    Ignacio

  4. Roxana Villalobos says:

    Español please!!!! Yo si lo leo Saludos tia Sara,Atl y Meztli los queremos!!!

  5. Arias says:

    Great photographs!

  6. I blog often and I really thank you for yourr information. This great article has truly peaked
    mmy interest. I am going to take a not off your site and keep checking
    for new details about once a week.I opted iin for your RSS fewd too.

Leave a Reply

